top of page

Week 1

During my first week of research and development of my senior project, "MiDiPi", I have begun by gathering the neccesary hardware and software.

I have downloaded the app "My Piano" for android, which currently has MIDI over WiFi support, meaning you can use the MIDI keyboard on your phone to control applications on your laptop. I will need to find a way to tweak this feature to allow WiFi uploading rather than WiFi controller support. This will require some sort of programming, which I currently do not have too much knowledege about, so i will need to learn how to write this type of script.

I have installed "Audacity" on my Fedora machine, which supports MIDI recording and playback. I plan on writing a bash script using a cronjob to schedule uploads to my Apache web server on my raspberry pi. I have never written a cronjob, so i will need to do more research on that.

I already have several programs with MIDI recording and playback capabilites on my windows machine, including FL Studio, Sony ACID, and MPC. I will need to find a way to also automatically schedule uploads using the Task Scheduler for Windows.

I have acquired my raspberry pi in the mail and i will need to learn how to set up an Apache Web Server, which i have never done.

Next week i will be setting up my raspberry pi with Raspbian OS, beginning the setup of hosting an Apache Web Server, setting up my website and blog, and doing research on a cronjob script for automatic uploads on linux devices.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page